Screaming From Beneath The Waves: Fanzine

In September, 2018, I produced an old school football fanzine. I had a lot of fun putting it together and really enjoyed the whole process. It was so nice to do everything the “old fashioned way” again. A real throwback to the days, before the instant gratification of the internet, and a reminder of my youth.

The first fanzine I ever produced, using my mum’s typewriter and some carbon paper, was called “Irritate” and it was dedicated to Punk Rock. It featured a few singles reviews, a report on a Clash concert and a completely made up interview with the Sex Pistols. There was one edition and three copies (the biggest amount possible using the aforementioned copying method!). It was 1977 and I was 13.

Since then, I’ve been responsible, or partly responsible, for various other football and music publications of varying quality. The most recent being “Sniffin’ Somtam (And Other Thai Football Habits)”, which saw the light of day in 2009. However, it failed to catch the imagination of the match going public, even though Thai football was going through an unprecedented boom period at the time. Indeed, the reaction from most of the foreigners we approached when the mag made its debut on that fateful night before a Thailand international at Rajamangala, was bordering on hostile.

Thankfully, the response to “Screaming From Beneath the Waves” – a title nicked (in true fanzine fashion) from an Echo and the Bunnymen lyric – was fantastic and the initial run sold out.

Over the next few days I will be reproducing it on this site, as best I can. However, if you would like a proper, stapled together, A4 paper copy, please contact me through the site.

Articles 1 and 2 can be read HERE